Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn


 YES, I have a book club! Many actually for kids, but this one is for adults…my CRAZY girls! This is the most wonderful and diverse group of women I have ever met. We love books, laughter, food, and wine…LOTS of wine! Recently I found a refrigerator magnet that reads…” your book club might have scintillating discussions, but my book club can drink your book club under the table.”  Yeah, those are my girls!!!

Anyway, we have been a group for about 4+ years and although the group has gained and lost readers, one thing stays the same…we have a blast together!!! My goal is to get all of us, including myself, to read different genres of books. This forces us to step out of our “reading rut” of reading the same thing all the time. This is often met with grumbles and groans, but they read what I pick…most of the time.:)

 Here’s where I want to start…with one of our favorite books…Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. Let me just say, I might slip and spoil something for a reader and I am very sorry. This book will be difficult to talk about without giving something away, but I will try.

Gillian Flynn is a new author for me and can I just say… I LOVE her!!! She is so twisted in her writing and it is AWESOME! I can’t wait to read Dark Places another bestseller by Flynn, but I am getting ahead of myself.

 Gone Girl is this twisted journey through the five-year marriage of Nick and Amy. In the beginning these two characters seem like an average young couple facing the usual stresses of a new marriage, but things are NOT what they seem. I was immediately captured by the way Flynn pushed and pulled these characters for the reader. There was always new information about Nick and Amy and it led to new clues about the relationship. The info usually would blow the story line in a totally new direction! Every single chapter led me to a new revelation about just how disturbed these characters were and I liked it! I can tell you, without spoiling anything, that Amy goes missing and Nick is the main suspect…this is in the summary, so don’t be mad at me. However, the mystery into Amy’s disappearance is so much more than a guilty husband. Can I just tell you…AMY is one psycho chick?!!!

 I need to STOP because I can’t say anymore without totally spoiling it for you! Lips are sealed!! Just know the book does not disappoint! YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!!!

Let me know what you think and until next time…Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

